Meet The Crime Drama Authors – Crimescene UK

Many of our favourite TV crime dramas and films are adapted from novels written by well-known, and sometimes not so well known, authors.

Possibly the most famous of these is, of course, Agatha Christie who gave us the characters Hercule Poirot and Miss Marple as well as the longest-running murder mystery stage play of all time – The Mousetrap which has been running in various theatres since its opening on 6th October 1952 at the Theatre Royal, Nottingham.

There are, of course, many others including the creator of Chief Inspector Barnaby in the Midsomer Murders series – one of the UK’s longest running crime dramas along with Taggart and The Bill – Caroline Graham.

Ian Rankin gave us Rebus, Colin Dexter created Morse, Val McDermid created Dr Tony Hill in the Wire in the Blood, Ruth Rendell is best known for creating Chief Inspector Wexford and, of course, we should not forget the granddaddy of them all, Arthur Conan Doyle, creator of Sherlock Holmes.

Where an author is not a UK citizen but originated from the UK then his/her work will be included on this site. Where an author is not a UK citizen but writes stories that are based in the UK, e.g. Harlan Coban’s “The Stranger” or Elizabeth George’s Inspector Lynley novels, then they too will be included in both the USA site and this site.

Find out more about these and many other crime drama authors in our Authors Guide.

Caroline Graham

(1931 – )

Creator of Midsomer Murders

Agatha Christie

(1890 – 1976)

Creator of Hercule Poirot, Miss Marples and many others.

Anthony Horowitz

(1955 – )

Creator of Foyles War and numerous Midsomer Murders episodes.

Ann Cleeves

(1954 – )

Creator of Vera and Shetland.

Chris Chibnall

(1970 – )

Creator of Broadchurch.

Ben Aaronovitch

(1964 – )

Creator of Rivers of London

Barbara Machin

Creator of Waking the Dead

Ruth Rendell

(1930 – 2015)

Creator of Inspector Wexford.

aka Barbara Vine

David Renwick

(1951 – )

Creator of Jonathan Creek

Lynda La Plante

(1943 – )

Creator of Prime Suspect

Val Mcdermid

(1955 – )

Creator of Wire in the Blood

Jimmy McGovern

(1949 – )

Creator of Cracker

Glenn Chandler

(1949 – )

Creator of Taggart

Ian Rankin

(1960 – )

Creator of Rebus

Reginald Hill

(1936 – 2012)

Creator of Dalziel and Pascoe

W.J. Burley

(1914 – 2002)

Creator of Wycliffe

Jed Mercurio

(1966 – )

Creator of Line of Duty & The BodyGuard

Elizabeth George

(1949 – )

Creator of Inspector Lynley

Colin Dexter

(1930 – 2017)

Creator of Inspector Morse

J.K. Rowling

(1965 – )

Creator of Cormoran Strike published under the pseudonym Robert Galbraith

Alan Hunter

(1922 – 2005)

Creator of Inspector George Gently

Richard Warlow

(1972 – )

Creator of Ripper Street

Ted Willis

(1914 – 1992)

Creator of Dixon of Dock Green